The Wife
by Alafair Burke
From The Jacket:
His Scandal
Her Secret
From New York Times bestselling author Alafair Burke, a stunning domestic thriller in the vein of Behind Closed Doors and The Woman in Cabin 10—in which a woman must make the impossible choice between defending her husband and saving herself.

When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.

Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.

This much-anticipated follow-up to Burke’s Edgar-nominated The Ex asks how far a wife will go to protect the man she loves: Will she stand by his side, even if he drags her down with him?



PbrHome - totes, wine bags, pillows for the book lover
Recent Book Reviews
Book Review -  The Last Thing He Told Me by Laura Dave
The Last Thing He Told Me
By by Laura Dave
Laura Dave raises the question, can you ever really know someone? Even your husband, who you love and believe loves you? This family drama begins with Hannah receiving a cryptic note from her husband saying protect her, ...More

 Book Review - Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro
Klara and the Sun
By Kazuo Ishiguro
This is one of those books that you either love or hate. I loved it. It reminded me of "Never Let Me Go" by this author. It's been a while since I read "Never Let Me Go," so I don't remember every detail ... More
Book Review - The Midnight Library by Matt Haig
The Midnight Library
By Matt Haig
I would love to find a magical library that lets me explore the what-ifs of life. In fact, I think this was my favorite part of the book. Who doesn't have a regret or two, or wonder how life would be with different choices? It's impossible not to think about this as you read this book....More

 What To Read Next - American Dirt by Jeanine Cummins
American Dirt
By Jeanine Cummins
There is a lot to discuss and ponder with Jeanne Cummins's new book American Dirt. She delivers an emotional read about a young mother and her son as they flee Mexico fearing retaliation from the ...More
Visit Our Blog
Browse A Little
Sign Up For Our Free Newsletter
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Pintrest Follow us on InstaGram
Visit out Etsy Shop
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending
Bookish Gifts- Tote bags, Pillows and more