Best Book Awards
Celebrating authors and promoting the joy of reading, book awards also serve as a gateway to discovering new books. PBR highly recommends exploring a few of these selections to add to your reading list and enhance your literary journey.
The Pulitzer Prize
Established in 1917, the Pulitzer Prize is known as the highest national honor in literary achievement. This prestigious award was made possible through the endowment of funds by renowned journalist and newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer and is now awarded annually in May of each year. There are 22 Pulitzer categories. In 21 categories, the winners receive a $15,000 cash award and a certificate. Winners
The Booker Prize
The Booker Prize is a prestigious British award given annually to the best novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom. It is awarded each year in October. The winner of The Booker Prize receives 50,000 GBP, and the shortlisted authors receive 2,500 GBP. Winners
Hugo Award
The Hugo Award, established in 1953, is an annual literary award for the best science fiction or fantasy book. There is no cash prize - winners receive a Hugo Award trophy.Winner
National Book Award
The National Book Awards honor outstanding works in Fiction, Young People's Literature, Poetry, Nonfiction, and Translated Literature. Only books written by US citizens and published in the United States are eligible. Each winner receives $10,000 and a bronze sculpture.Winner
National Book Critics Circle Award
The National Book Critics Circle gives out awards for the best books published in English each year. The categories are Fiction, Nonfiction, Biography, Autobiography, Poetry, and Criticism. As long as a book is published in English in the United States, it is eligible to win. Winners are announced each year in March. Winners
Women's Prize for Fiction
The Women's Prize is one of Britain's most prestigious awards. It celebrates & honors fiction written by women. Any full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year is eligible. In addition, beginning in 2023, there is a sister prize, the Woman's Prize for Nonfiction, with the first winner announced in 2024. The winners are announced in June of each year.Winners
Edgar Awards
The Edgar Awards, widely accepted as the most prestigious awards in this genre, are presented annually by the Mystery Writers of America. The winners are announced in April of each year. Winners
The John Newbery Medal
The American Library Association awards the Newbery Medal each January to the most distinguished American children's book published in the previous year. Winner
Printz Award
The Michael L. Printz Award is given each year for the best book written for teens. The award's namesake was a school librarian in Topeka, Kansas, who loved books. Winner
Caldecott Medal
The Caldecott Medal is given to the artist who created the most notable American Picture Book for Children, published in the United States during the preceding year. This prestigious award recognizes the incredible talent and dedication of the artist. The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. Winner
GoodReads Choice Award
The Goodreads Choice Awards is an annual event introduced by Goodreads in 2009, where readers cast their votes for the best books of the year. These books can either be chosen from titles nominated by Goodreads or books the users have picked themselves. Winner
Looking for more reading suggestions?
Visit Our Blog
Browse A Little
PBR book reviews and Reading guides for book clubs
Visit out Etsy Shop
10 Books I Can't Stop Recommending